W6 The Seven Principles of Spiritualism

The Seven Principles of Spiritualism 

The Seven Principles of Spiritualism formed a practical foundation for those wishing to pursue mediumship and a lifestyle founded in the Spiritualist movement. The Spiritualist philosophy is a lifestyle supported by the seven principles in a non-dogmatic fashion.

The communicating spirit, the eminent philanthropist and social reformer Robert Owen, who died in 1858, communicated the seven principles to medium Emma Hardinge Britten (1823-1899) in 1871. Emma was inspired to share the teachings as guidelines for our daily lives and assist us on our spiritual pathway. 

The Seven Principles of Spiritualism

1. The Fatherhood of God

The core belief of the religious philosophy of Spiritualism is the acceptance of a Source Energy and it’s role in creating all there is, all there ever was and all there ever will be.  The ‘Spirit of God’ exists within and around everything.  It is within all of us; we are all children of God, Goddess, All that is. We are all connected.  

Spiritualists acknowledge God as ‘Father’.

2. The Brotherhood of Man

We are all part of Source Energy.  The world could be a place of equality, safety and peace if all embraced the fact that we are connected. 

Spiritualists try to understand the needs of others and help all people regardless of race, colour or creed.

3. The Communion of Spirits and the Ministry of Angels

Communion with Divine Energy is a natural and essential part of existence. Communication between spirit itself and its creations is an inbuilt ability.  Spiritualists use this ability for communication directly, or via a medium, between those in the spirit world and us.  This is not supernatural; it is a normal activity.  The main purpose of communication with the spirit world is to provide the evidence which supports our philosophy.  The Ministry of Angels brings enhanced wisdom to enlighten the individual, society and the world in which we live.  This includes those who are dedicated to the welfare and service of mankind bringing inspiration, guidance and healing.

4. The Continuous Existence of the Human Soul

Spirit is part of the ‘Creative Force’ and thus indestructible.  Energy cannot be destroyed; it can only change its form.  After death the physical body is left behind whilst the soul continues to exist in a different dimension that we call the spirit world.  The individual personality continues unchanged by the event we call ‘death’.

5. Personal Responsibility

In His wisdom, God has given us enormous potential; we can use that potential to improve our own lives and the lives of others.  We have the ability to make decisions throughout our lives as we see fit.  What each of us makes of our life is our personal responsibility; no one can replace or override that right.  No other person or influence can rectify our wrongdoings.

6. Compensation and Retribution hereafter for all the Good and Evil Deeds done on Earth

This principle expresses the natural law of cause and effect.  This law operates now, on earth, as well as in the spirit world.  As we move through life making choices, the outcome of those choices affects our soul growth.  When we leave this earthly life there will be no divine judgement.  We will have the opportunity to reassess, take stock and decide what might have been done differently.

7. Eternal Progress Open to every Human Soul

Eternity does not begin at death.  Progress is open to all now!  Any action, or intent to change, to promote soul growth and progression, creates a positive reaction.  There will always be the opportunity to develop and move forward; no one is ever deprived of the all-embracing love of God.